Patagonia Women’s Nano-Air Jacket Review

‘Put it on leave it on’ is a bold claim from Patagonia and as the predecessor of this jacket had won a ‘2015 Outside Gear of the Year’ Award, I was keen to put it to the test.

First thing you notice is just how light it is and I’m talking really light (!) 252g to be exact. It has a brilliant women’s fit too, a nice cut with a long enough back to keep it from riding up when wearing a rucksack and sleeves with a bit of give. I am not a fan of tight cuffs; I like to be able to push them up, see my watch and not be restricted by my choice of jacket. On top of this the sizing I found to be pretty spot on, it had a good amount of give for layers underneath but doesn’t look oversized and baggy. All in all they have done a great job!

The Nano-Air sports a quite impressive list of technical jargon for those in the know and for those just concerned by the colour choices you can’t go wrong with any of the eye catching options.

  • Shell: 1.3-oz 20-denier 100% nylon ripstop.
  • Lining: 2-oz 50-denier 100% nylon plain weave.
  • Both shell and lining with mechanical stretch and a DWR (durable water repellent) finish.
  • Insulation: 40-g FullRange™ 100% polyester stretch insulation.
  • Knit: 6.3-oz 100% polyester stretch waffle knit with Polygiene® permanent odor control
  • 252 g (8.9 oz)

file-3.jpeg

The big question though – did I ‘Put it on leave it on’?

Impressively yes! I was putting this through its paces in the beautiful Lake District and had all the bag space and spare kit ready for when I thought I was going to be too hot and then too cold. On mountains runs I do always find it a hard toss up with what to wear. I don’t like to be too cold at the start yet I know the moment I’m on a uphill climb I’ll be boiling in the bag of my jacket and upon reaching the summit there you go its blowing a gale and chilly is an understatement again.

Impressively the Nano-Air held its own, underneath I had worn just a t-shirt ready for when I was too hot, but I am pleased to say it didn’t get a showing. In the wind it was warming and didn’t let too much of a draught through and on the uphill’s when I expected to boil, it was nicely wicking. It let the heat out and with only simple changes of the zip I was able to get all the cool air I needed.

I am impressed and this certainly is now a cold run staple of mine.

Patagonia’s bold claim has stood the test of the Lakes, it went, it ran and it conquered!

 

Leave a Reply

